Mangosteens make me happy!!!!

Saturday I spent the day walking around NYC Chinatown with Xiao, and we found my very favorite fruit!! Mangosteens!! There is no other fruit that can make me smile as much as this Queen of Fruits!  The purple mangosteen is a tropical evergreen tree that grows from 20 to 80 feet tall and produces amazing white fruit encased in a deep reddish purple shell. The rind is not edible, but inside the white arils are sweet, tangy and well, perfect! These trees are believed to have originated in the Sunda Islands and the Moluccas of Indonesia, but they are now cultivated throughout Southeast Asia and other tropical areas – I was beyond happy when we found them being sold on the streets of Liberia.  As you may have imagined, Justin was searching out foods that did not please my palate so I was living off of coconut water, tropical fruits and rice. 🙂 Below is a video that shows part of our Liberia and Sierra Leone trip.  Yes – that is me pushing the car. 🙂

Recently I heard of another mangosteen – the button mangosteen or cherapu. My newest goal is to find this orange colored relative of the purple mangosteen!!

Happy Orange Suggestion: Eat mangosteens!!!  Lots of them!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mangosteens make me happy!!!!

Leave a Reply

