Orange Nunchucks Make Me Happy

Since I spent Christmas in India this year, I was unable to celebrate with my family….making this only the second time in my life – the first was when I was working in the Disney College Program which of course was a ridiculously fun experience! The one good thing about missing a holiday is that you get delayed gratification. Last Sunday my brother and his wife brought over my Christmas gifts and in my lovely holiday bag I found orange nunchucks!! These are not just any nunchucks, they are replicas from the movie ‘Game of Death’ with Bruce Lee. Which I now feel the need to watch.  Here is a nunchuck scene.

Michelangelo of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Of course I instantly sent out a text to a friend bragging about my new toy. “Cowabunga!” he replied. Even though my lack of knowledge of popular culture usually fascinates people, I got the reference. After further investigation, I learned that Michelangelo of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, a team of four ninjutsu trained anthropomorphic turtles named after Renaissance artists, typically wears an orange mask and uses nunchucks! What?  Amazing! I think we should hang out.

Who else uses nunchucks?

Panthro of the ThunderCats

ThunderCats, an animated show that debuted in 1985, was based on the adventures of a group of cat-like humanoid aliens.  The Character Panthro was panther-like and used laser-shooting nunchuks!  I love lasers!

Bruce Lee

From what I have seen, Bruce Lee used nunchucks in many movies.  For example, Fist of Fury in 1972 where he plays Chen Zhen, a student of Huo Yuanjia, who fights to defend the honor of the Chinese and to bring to justice those responsible for his master’s death.

Nunchuck (G.I. Joe)

Nunchuck is a character from G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero, a military-themed line of action figures, animated ’80’s show, and comic book. G.I. Joe is particularly interesting to me because my brother wrote and directed a film which was a satire using the Cobra characters from this storyline and I acted in it.  Oh yes, somewhere out there you can find clips of me acting.  My character, The Baroness, was quite an assassin.  Most of the scenes were an absolute blast to film, except for the one in which I was tied up in an abandoned building for hours with fake blood pretty much everywhere.

Mini Orange Ninja

I found these ridiculously cute mini orange ninja dolls with nunchucks.

Throughout my life I have taken many types of fighting, some for years and some only for a few months: karate, boxing, kung-fu, muay thai, krav maga, wrestling, capoeira and even fencing.  I guess now it is time for some serious weapon training!  Orange nunchucks definitely make me happy.  Next I want a nine section whip chain!  My suggestion:  Go rent a good fight movie and then practice your moves – in a controlled setting of course! :)

Leave a Reply

